Dining With the Dinosaurs – My Attempt a Paleo Baking

I’m always up for a challenge, as the title of this blog implies. So when faced with the task of whipping up some diet-specific treats for a party, I wasn’t afraid to say no.

A little background info. A few of my dancer friends and I were getting together one night and, like always, I offered to bring the baked goods. One girl, however, said she’d have to pass since she was on the paleo diet.

For those who don’t know, the paleo diet takes people back to the days of dinosaurs and club-carrying cavemen. Like our ancestors, they eat all the fruits, veggies, nuts, eggs and meat that they can gather and hunt (or, more realistically, buy at Trader Joe’s). However, they can’t eat any grains, dairy, salt, sugar or oils— basically all the essential elements of baking.

I could have said, “well that sucks,” and made my famous, sugar-filled brownies. But I hate excluding people, especially when it comes to food which brings people together. So after scouring Pinterest, I found a recipe on Multiply Delicious that  would please the paleo and modern eaters alike! Of course, I did a little tweaking, but I’d like to think these are just as good as the original.

Paleo Cookies

Chunky Monkey Bites
Ingredients

  • 1 cup mashed banana, about 2 bananas
  • 3 Tbsp. cashew butter (you can also use almond butter, but stay clear of peanut butter. It’s a paleo no-no)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1-1/4 cup almond flour (you can also use rice or coconut flour)
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix banana, cashew butter, vanilla extract, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a bowl till creamy.
  3. Add in flour. (Note: Since almond flour is so grainy, the batter won’t be smooth. Accept this and move on. )
  4. Stir in chocolate chips.
  5. Cover bowl and let batter sit in fridge for about 2 hours. (You can skip this step, but I found it’s easier to form balls if it chills).
  6. Scoop about 1-1/2 Tbsp of dough and form into balls, placing on the sheet about 1/2-inch apart.
  7. Bake for 11 to 14 minutes, until golden on top.

While I won’t be making these every weekend (the almond flour is REALLY expensive), I do think these were a nice, light treat for a girls’ night in.

Will you give these treats a try? Have another paleo recipe? Let me know in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Baking, Food Challenge, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dining With the Dinosaurs – My Attempt a Paleo Baking

  1. I eat paleo but still bake the sweet stuff (for other people). I do make paleo desserts too though, and there are several good recipes out there! I have a few on my blog. I haven’t done paleo cookies yet, I will have to give these a try for sure.

Leave a Reply

