A Day of Forgiveness

My father is not afraid to point out my flaws, and let me tell you there are a lot of them. But the one he constantly comments on is my inability to forgive.

“You’ve got Sicilian Alzheimer,” he tells me. “You forget everything but the grudges.”

He is right. I hold grudges longer than anyone. I still give the evil-eye to the girl who called me fat in fifth grade. Basically, if someone hurts me and doesn’t apologize, I hate that person forever. If  a friend hurts me, it’s even worse. My grudge-holding is bound to be my one-way ticket to hell.

I realize, however, that holding grudges is no way to go through life. And with graduation two months away, I don’t want to leave Syracuse University hating people who, at some point, influenced my time here.

So today’s challenge is all about curing my Alzheimer. I will find five people who I currently hold a grudge against and attempt to work things out. This may be my hardest challenge yet, and I’ll need your help every step of the way.

Break out the tissues and Ben&Jerry’s. It’s going to be an emotional ride.

This entry was posted in Emotional Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day of Forgiveness

  1. Melissa says:

    Good luck Leah! I know that this will be hard but no matter what you’ll have me with you in the end. Oh, and if Ben&Jerry’s is involved you should probably get the Late Night Snack because if the ice cream doesn’t cheer you up I’m sure that Jimmy’s face on the carton will 🙂

Leave a Reply

