Two Days Down. . .

Hey folks. Sorry for tha lack of postage yesterday. Dress rehearsals for my dance shows kept me beyond busy. But lucky for you that means double the posts today.

The vegetarian life hasn’t been too hard. It gives me  an excuse to eat more peanut butter, which you know I love.

Despite my busy schedule, I found the time to recreate a recipe from SELF magazine. The recipe for quinoa-stuffed peppers filled me up without weighing me down, making them the perfect meal before a four-hour dance rehearsal. The traditional stuffed pepper contains rice, ground beef, and sauce – that’s it. This vegetarian option, however, contains quinoa, kidney beans, and a lot of veggies.

I’ve made this recipe before, step by step and ingredient by ingredient, and it tasted amazing. This time, however, I made a few adjustments based on what I had in the fridge. Rather than carrots, I used mushrooms. Instead of mozzarella cheese, I opted for parmesan. Even with all these changes, the quinoa-stuffed peppers still tasted great and I didn’t  miss the meat.

My delicious dinner, sans meat.

If you’re still not tempted to make this recipe, take this nutritional information in to account:

  • traditional stuffed peppers are 300 calories and contain 16.5 grams of fat. SELF’s stuffed peppers are 237 calories and contain 6 grams of fat.
  • Traditions stuffed peppers contain 2.3 grams of fiber. SELF’s stuffed peppers contain 10 grams fo fiber.

So next time you’re craving a spicy stuffed pepper, move away from the traditional. I hope my meal today is just as filling and fabulous.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

