Bread Free Breakfasts

Hello CA followers. Hope you’re having a great evening while I’m freezing my tookus off.

This passover challenge is more difficult than I thought it would be. Especially when it comes to breakfast. For me, the first meal of the day is not complete without a stereotypical carb. If I can’t eat a big bowl of cereal or grab an english muffin, I’m not happy. These last few morning of yogurt and berries, although delicious, has been slightly unsatisfying.

So this morning I tried to make my breakfast out of a yeast-free grain: QUINOA

Known for its high protein and dietary fiber levels, people commonly use this grain for savory dishes (like those quinoa stuffed peppers I made). But today I tried to turn this side into a pseudocereal, and it was a great success.

Brown Sugar & Cinnamon Quinoa

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • 1/4 cup of quinoa — RINSE prior to use
  • Brown sugar (1 to 2 tsp)
  • Cinnamon (1 to 2 tsp)
  • Raisins
  • Chopped walnuts

Instructions

  1. Mix milk, water, and quinoa in a sauce pan.
  2. Bring mixture to a boil.
  3. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes, or until all the liquid has been absorbed
  4. Mix in brown sugar, cinnamon, raisins, and walnuts.
  5. Curl up  on the couch and enjoy this tasty treat.

Obvious, you can substitute the raisins and walnuts for any dried fruit/nut combo.  No matter what you mix in, this is the perfect passover breakfast.

This entry was posted in Food Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bread Free Breakfasts

  1. musclemommy says:

    Nice article. I love quinoa and always feel so healthy when I eat it. I have used it more as a filler, but the idea of using it as a main dish with some fruit and nuts is great. I know what I am having for breakfast tomorrow.

    BTW, Welcome to The Greatist.

    Kristine

    • Leah R says:

      Thanks for the compliment and the welcome 🙂 I never thought to use it as a sweet dish, but I did and I love it. Let me know how your breakfast goes. I also found a recipe for quinoa fritters that’s I’m dying to try. Perhaps an experiment for The Greatist? Haha

Leave a Reply

