Returning to the Challenge

1 year. 6 months. 16 days.

That’s how much time has passed since my last blog post. I don’t take pride in this. When I start something, I follow it through to the end. That includes running a race through a knee injury, watching an awful indie flick, and a sub-par bottle of beer. Unfortunately life, and a lot of challenges, got in the way. So even though I wasn’t writing about it, I was tackling a number of obstacles.

After returning from a 10 day trip to Italy, I learned my grandmother had been placed in hospice care and didn’t have much time left. Within a week, she was gone. I felt so much guilt for leaving her, wishing I had stayed to hear her final words of wisdom. But I had to move past it, and fast, because I was moving to New York City to start what was supposed to be an amazing internship that led to a job.

Well, it didn’t. But two internships later, I finally found the dream job: writing for a pop culture website. I loved my co-workers, my daily duties, and even the location. I could see myself there for a while. Sadly some financial issues required the company to cut about half of their staff, including me. So on to the next job.

After months of unemployment, I landed a job at a toy magazine. “Cool,” I thought. “I could play with and review toys all day.” Too bad to them, the title of editorial assistant meant answering phones and making coffee. Not exactly what I went to school to study. Despite the free toys (a fabulous perk for a babysitter), I hated the job and had to find something new.

And I did, as an editor for a parenting website. Another job that suited me well given my editorial experience and work with children. Again, however, I lost the job due to financial difficulties. I really hate that whole “last one hired, first one fired” concept. Whatever happened to managing money better so no one gets fired?

So here I am in the same situation I’ve been in before: unemployed with too much time on my hands. But rather than feel sorry for myself, I plan on turning this negative obstacle into a positive opportunity. Each day (or maybe every other day, because those job apps won’t fill out themselves), I plan on challenging myself – be it big or small – and writing about it for my “fans.” Maybe it will inspire others to challenge themselves. Maybe it will get me noticed by a major magazine. Maybe it will just be fun. Either way, I’m looking forward to this second chance at blogging and, maybe, a second chance to find out what I’m really meant to do.

Challenged and Excited,

Leah

This entry was posted in Emotional Challenge, Food Challenge, Mental Challenge, Physical Challenge, Technological Challenge, Verbal Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

