Sparkle and Joy: Holiday Nails

While typing my earlier post, I looked down at my nails and thought they looked a lil bland. Ok, more than bland. They were broken, unpolished, and even a little dirty. Not exactly the traits I want to convey to the world (especially future employers). So I decided to take the time to fix my look and tackle my challenge to spread some holiday cheer, but on a more personal level.

Since I’m still a nail novice, I don’t go too crazy with designs. I’m also not one to paint mini poinsettias on my pointer finger or go green and red. When trying to pick a holiday look that screamed Leah, I thought about my favorite part of the holidays: candles in windowsills, tinsel hanging off trees, glitter from the snow. Pretty much anything that sparkles!

While you can do this design with any color or combo of polish, I thought I’d share my personal picks.

Tools:

  • Extreme nail filer and buffer (Maybe it’s just my paranoia, but I always think the polish goes on better if I smooth, buff, and shine the nail first).
  • Sally Hanson Double Duty (More like triple: base coat, top coat, and nail strengthener)
  • Rimmel London Grey Matter (I always get compliments on this color, even from my fashionista sister. Plus, it dries fast!)
  • Nicole by OPI Rainbow in the Skyline (The abundance of color makes it perfect for year round use).
The tools and the final product.

The tools and the final product.

Trick:
I don’t know about you, but my biggest issue with polishing nails is knowing when they are dry. A manicurist once told me this tip to prevent from smudging. She said to tap your nails together and if they stick even a little bit, they aren’t completely dry.

Now that I’ve given myself some holiday cheer, it’s time to spread it through my apartment. Wish me luck!

——

How do you polish your nails for the holiday? Share your tricks and pics below!

This entry was posted in Beauty, Christmas, Holiday Challenge, Nails and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sparkle and Joy: Holiday Nails

  1. Teresa Young says:

    Soaking your nails in cold water for a few minutes also helps them dry faster! (:

Leave a Reply

