Run It, Run It: The Half-Marathon Challenge

Run

At the age of 11, I picked up the sport (or some would say, punishment) of running. I needed an athletic activity that required minimal skills, which eliminated anything involving a ball. I also wanted a sport that was all mine. My sister had swimming, my dad had riffle shooting, and my mom had… well, I think at the time she had Tae-Bo.

So my parents bought a pair of running sneakers, and I started a seven-year journey of distance runs on the beach, hill workouts, and sprint to the finish races. Unfortunately, that journey came with challenges. After training very hard my sophomore year of high school, I developed compartment syndrome — a condition that puts added pressure on your muscles. The daily runs made the condition worse, which meant knee pain every time I ran.

After high school, I took a break from the sport I loved. I still went on the occasional jog and ran a few races, but my knee couldn’t handle the training I took on in high school. Lately, however, I’ve been missing it. I crave the endorphin high you get after a distance run, the slight tinge you get in your shins during the final sprint, and the sound of the crowd cheering you on. And watching all my friends tackle half-marathons doesn’t help.

So today, I decided to take on a year-long challenge. In November of 2013, I will run the Disney Wine and Dine Half-Marathon with my friend Meghan.

Disney Wine and Dine 2012

 

Of course, I don’t plan on going from pseudo couch potato to half-marathoner in a snap. I’ve downloaded a trainer onto my iPod, and I plan on running a few 5 and 10ks during this time (including my favorite, Color Me Rad). I’m looking forward to reigniting my love for running, and doing it while jogging through Disney,

I’ll make sure to update you all on my training, from the highs to the lows, and hopefully I can gather some tips and tricks along the way.

Have you ever run a half-marathon? Leave your training tips below!

This entry was posted in Disney Wine and Dine 2013, Fitness, Half Marathon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Run It, Run It: The Half-Marathon Challenge

  1. Meredith says:

    Congrats, Leah! Can’t wait to read all about your journey. My advice to you: make training a priority in your life. For me, that means sleeping in my workout clothes so that when my alarm goes off at 5:30, I’m already dressed for the gym!

  2. Meg says:

    Heyyyy now you need to start blogging more because I nominated you for an award – go to my blog and check it out 🙂

  3. I had a friend do this run this year, and she intends to do it again next year. She says it’s fun, but I like to limit myself to about 5 miles. Good luck! 😀

Leave a Reply

