Blogging: A Bigger Challenge Than I Thought

Blogging

I apologize for the lack of posts during the past two weeks. They say it takes 21 days for something to become a habit, so hopefully you folks can bare with me that long.

For me, blogging weekly is harder habit to develop than running daily or flossing nightly. No one else is affected by my 5k time or my plaque build up. They are, however, affected by my blog and articles. At least, I like to think they that. I take the time to develop a meaningful piece, something that’s worth the 5 to 10 minutes people spend reading a post. I want people to get something from my posts, whether it’s a recipe, training tips, or simply feeling like someone, somewhere shares their feelings. I’m pretty sure that’s what every writer wants.

But as much as that mentality motivates me to write, it also scares me away from it. What if I put all this time into a post and no one reads it? What if I pour my soul into a piece and people mock me? What if I learn I’m not that good, and those four years studying journalism were a waste? Damn the worrying and the “what if-ing.”

I suppose that’s what separates the Pulitzer prized authors from the wannabes; the John Steinbecks from the John Does, if you will. They don’t worry what others think. They simply say “fuck it,” put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard in this case), and create something that matters to them and no one else.

So maybe I need to take on a new challenge. I need to stop writing for others and start writing for myself! Please readers, don’t take offense to this. Hopefully my personality is enough to keep you entertained.

Via KnowYourMeme.com

 

This entry was posted in Mental Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

