Healing From Heart Break

You want a heart? You don’t know how lucky you are not to have one. Hearts will never be practical until they can be made unbreakable.

As I write this post, the wise words from the Wizard of Oz play through my head. Nothing hurts more than when your heart breaks. And unfortunately, I’ve spent the last two weeks putting mine back together.

Two Mondays ago, my boyfriends of five months decided to end things. To some, five months may be nothing (although it was longer than the Kardashian-Humphries marriage). Even for me, it wasn’t my longest relationship. Things, however, felt different this time. It may seem silly, and probably a bit embarrassing to admit online, but I thought he was the one. I could see us moving in together, getting married, and maybe getting a puppy some time (as someone who had a huge fear of dogs growing up, that’s big). But, I supposed it wasn’t meant to be. And when he told me we were over, my heart broke, my stomach churned, my throat closed and my eyes filled with tears.

I lied in bed wondering what’s next and how will I heal. I tried a combination of techniques, good and bad, and think I found a cure for my broken heart. Well, maybe not a cure, but a road to recovery as it were.

But above all things, you need to be ready to move on. Not right away, of course. Give yourself a day or two (or more) to sulk, cry, and finish off that pint of Ben and Jerry’s.  Eventually though, the tears will stop and the ice cream will have melted. When that happens, you’ll feel better and be ready to try at another relationship.

And if that one ends in heart-break too, then at least you’ll know how to handle it.

How do you mend a broken heart?

This entry was posted in Emotional Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

