Becoming Part of the Plan (International)

Happy Monday CA readers! Hopefully you all recovered from your weekend of debauchery and Oscar viewing in time for the work week.

As many of you may remember (and if you don’t, I won’t be upset) one of my New Year’s resolutions was to give back. Given all the tragedies that occurred in 2012, I wanted to do my part to make 2013 a better year for those who may not be as lucky.

It took some time to find a charity I wanted to devote time (and potentially money) to. Occasionally  you’ll find one that doesn’t do as much as you’d like or, even worse, you’ll find one that turn out to be a scam. But I finally found one, or rather it found me.

As I went for a walk one Saturday morning, I ran into the typical NYC Charity Hound. You know who I’m talking about the people who wear an obnoxious colored vest, carry clipboards, jump in front of you, and then make you feel bad when you don’t stop. Usually I avoid these people by pulling out my cell phone  or popping in my ear buds, but I was in a good mood so I stopped to talk to them.

I ended up talking to a sweet Southern man who spent a short amount of time talking to me about Plan International USA. Based in my home state of Rhode Island (an instant sign I could trust it), Plan International is dedicated to improving the education, health, hygiene, and safety of children in under developed countries . How do they do this? Through the generosity of people in better-off places. By signing up as a sponsor, my money will give a young child opportunities that he or she wouldn’t have otherwise.

After checking the organization online (oh what would we do without smartphones), I decided this was the charity. And today, I finally received my sponsor packet, which included a photo and letter from my child.

Plan International

Samantha from Zimbabwe

Meet my “daughter” Samantha! A 12-year-old from Zimbabwe, Samantha has a pretty rough life. attend a primary school that is a 90 minute walk from her house (and to think I complain about walking 10 minutes in the snow). She and her family walk to a water spring and spend over 30 minutes collecting water.

I can’t wait to write her letters, learn more about her, and, most importantly, help her .

Samantha and her friend from the village.

Samantha and her friend from the village.

What’s your favorite charity to give to? Share in the comment section. 

This entry was posted in Charity, Volunteering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

