New Year’s Resolutions: The 2 Month Mark

Was anyone else surprised to look at their calendar (or, more likely, their iPhone) and saw that today was the last day of February. It seems like only yesterday I was popping champs and attempting to stay up till midnight. But alas, it was only two months ago and a lot has changed since then.

Since we’re 59 days into 2013, I thought I’d give you folks an update on my New Year’s Resolutions. Some have been very successful while others are still a work in progress.

1. Stop Worrying About Weight

Photo via More.com

Photo via More.com

Believe it or not, I’ve been the most successful with this resolution. I actually haven’t weighed myself since 2012 (which may not be the best thing in the world) nor have I counted calories. I still run three times a week, dance twice a week and will soon be returning to my personal trainer. But I do that out of enjoyment, not an unhealthy obsession. To finally see food as something that keeps me alive and brings me joy, rather than making me worry about my waste line is the best gift I could have asked for.

2. Write More Letters

Photo via WinningFuturesBook.org

Photo via WinningFuturesBook.org

I would have to give this a challenge fail– so far! I don’t know why it is so hard for me to put pen to paper. I did it as a student for 16 years! I even had a teacher who required us to write all our essays by hand; we weren’t allowed to type it till the day before it was due and it had to match the original. Perhaps I need to join some sort of old-school pen pal network like in elementary school. Anyone know of any?

3. Give Back

Samantha, the child I sponsor through Plan International.

Samantha, the child I sponsor through Plan International.

Again, another shock when it comes to successful challenges. But as I shared with you on Monday, this charity chose me and I’m so happy it did! I can’t wait to watch Samantha grow into a young lady and I hope I’m able to help her grow into one successfully.

4. Read 50 Books

The Kindle, a gift from e to me

The Kindle, a gift from e to me

So far, I’m at 8 percent with this goal. Maybe not impressive ot some, but considering one of my reads was Gone Girl, an intense 300+ page thriller I’ll give myself a pass. I also read This Beautiful Life, a novel about growing up in a technology and sex-crazed world, Talking with My Mouth Full, a memoir from Top Chef judge and my personal idol Gail Simmons, and Drinking and Tweeting by Brandi Glanville. One of the reasons I haven’t been able to read as much is because the books I chose aren’t easy to carry on the subway. Hopefully my Kindle will help make this a little easier.

And while we’re at it, does anyone have any good recommendations?

5. Blog, Blog, Blog
I know guys. I know. You (might) want and definitely deserve more. And trust me,  I’m trying. Thank you to those who continue to stand by and read my work despite it’s consistency.

So far, I’m not doing that bad. As always, I could be doing better but as my dad always tells me, “it’s not how you start the race, but how you finish it.”

How are you doing with your New Year’s resolutions?

This entry was posted in Books, Challenge Fail, Challenge Success, Charity, Volunteering, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions: The 2 Month Mark

  1. crimeangurl says:

    I love your first resolutions! As far as I am concerned, counting calories is the worst thing. Even if I am not starving myself, it makes me think about food all the time, which always results in a big failure. Tomorrow is the first day of my 20lbs weightloss challenge, and I’ll be officially kicking it off by throwing away the batteries from my scale until my first weight-in on April 1st. I am not prepared yet to completely give up weighting myself, but who knows, maybe by the time April comes, I won’t feel the need.

    • Thanks for the love! When I was suffering from my ED, the scale and calorie counting only added to the damage. And I do agree— it’s important to weight yourself once in a while just to make sure you’re healthy. Good luck with your challenge! Maybe you can do a guest post?

  2. Meg says:

    Blog more! Blog more! 😉 and I love your “giving back” I can’t wait to read more about it!

  3. Books! Try ‘The Eyre Affair’, by Jasper Fforde. Not only does he have an awesomely-spelt surname but he also writes very unusual, quirky stories set in slightly different version of Britain. He also wrote ‘Shades of Grey’ (nothing to do with the number fifty) which is truly excellent, genuinely original writing.

    If you want to speed your way to 50 books, Christian Cantrell does a whole variety of very-short-to-short books with some interesting ideas: try ‘Containment’ (short) or ‘The Epoch Index’ (extremely short).

    You write well. I came across this via the March ab challenge bit, which I am going to adapt to a partial May/June challenge so we’ll see how that goes. Did it do much for you in the end (there’s a before but no after!) so I’ll know if I need to work harder!

Leave a Reply

