Sunday Success Story – Stringing Together Small Things

“Being happy isn’t having everything in your life be perfect. It’s about stringing together all the little things.” – Ann Brashares, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

Years ago, as I made the transition into high school,  I picked up The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. I wouldn’t say it was the most inspiring book I read that year—or ever—but the quote above always  stayed in my head.

As a mentioned last time, my life has been anything but picture perfect over the past few months. Rather, it’s been a series of rough drafts that you toss in the trash. But after the tragedy that occurred last week, I realized that my life may not be perfect, but it’s far from awful. In fact, it’s pretty damn good. So instead of focusing on my “failures”, maybe I should string together my successes, however small they may be, and truly celebrate them.

So from now on I plan to use my Sundays (and my little blog) to celebrate the small and amazing things that happen over the week. And I encourage you to do the same!

Success 1 – I Got Some Sweet (Free)  Swag
IMG_1516

It’s not always easy to find the bright side in a job where you do a lot of work for little pay. But this week, that side shined quite a bit. With my boss being out, I had to take on a lot of extra tasks, which included going to preview events for the fall fashion lines. And when you go to these events, you score some amazing things, like a too-cute tote bag, a pair of normally un-affordable shows, or a piece of jewelry you wouldn’t have bought for yourself.

This is one thing the Devil Wears Prada never mentioned about working for a fashion magazine.

Success 2 – I Ate Ice Cream for Dinner, and Didn’t Care
IMG_1493But bags and bags of swag can’t make up for the late hours and work overload that I had to handle this week. One day I had to stay late, forcing me to miss a session with my trainer (my main form of sanity) and a meet-up with a good friend. I was obviously upset and needed a quick pick me up before my late-night dance session. So I channeled my six-year-old self and indulged in ice cream for dinner.

Now the old, weight-obsessed Leah would have had the ice cream then jumped on the treadmill for an hour to burn it off (and then some). But on the warm spring night, I sat in the park and  slowly savored every bit of that vanilla cone with cherry dip.

Talk about a small, and sweet moment of happiness.

Success 3 – I Went on a Date
The hardest thing about heartbreak, other than putting the pieces back together, is moving on. After about 3 months of cutting internet ties, tossing out photos and a few too many pints of Ben and Jerry’s, I felt like I was finally ready to re-enter the dating game.

I won’t go into the details, because I’m sure most of you don’t care (and if you do, you’ve probably already called and chatted about it), but it went better than well. Whether it turns into something or not, it was exactly what I needed to feel confident about dating again.

What were your successes this week?

This entry was posted in Emotional Challenge, Personal, Sunday Success and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Success Story – Stringing Together Small Things

  1. This is such a great practice! In a way, it’s almost like counting your blessings and when we do that, it sheds so much light on the beauty of life. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

