It’s International No Diet Day! So Enjoy These Cookie Dough Brownies!

There are many designated days that I don’t understand.
I mean, do we really need to devote 24 hours to beer cans and men’s grooming? But if there is one day I can get behind, it’s International No Diet Day!

Now, in an ideal world, every day would be free from diets.  As someone who spent many years starving (and even vomiting) her way to a thin body, I tried everything from Fruit Flush to South Beach to the Cayenne Water Cleanse. They just made me miserable, tired and, obviously, hungry.  Later, in the post-recovery part of my life, I pursued a nutrition minor which made me hate diets more. Sure, you may shed some pounds when you cut out carbs or processed food for a month. But as soon as they reenter your body, so does the weight.

So take it from someone who’s dealt with diets on a personal and semi-professional level— they don’t work. The best thing you can do for your body is eat the rainbow (aka lots of fruits and veggies), exercise regularly, and give into those indulgences.

And my main indulgence, if you haven’t figured it out by now, is dessert. Whether it’s a bowl of ice cream or a bite of chocolate, I need something sweet at the end of the day. When I really want to treat myself I combine desserts, like a scoop of ice cream over a piece of pie.

So when I wanted to treat my football team for a season well-done, I decided to give them a double-dose of dessert with my cookie dough brownies. In my mind, these are the perfect indulgences. While you may want to eat the whole tray ( I mean, just look at them), they are so sweet that a small bite (or two) will do. Not to mention, they are super easy to make!

You can't say no to these brownies.

Cookie Dough Brownies
Ingredients

  • 1 box of brownie mix (you can make your own, of course, but I have yet to find a recipe I like)
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 Tbsp. milk
  • 1-1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1-1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Prepare brownies according to the package / recipe. Let cool completely (I let them cool overnight).
  2. Using an electric mixer, mix butter and sugars in a bowl until creamy.
  3. Blend in milk and vanilla.
  4. Add flour, mixing on low, until well combined.
  5. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  6. Using a spatula (or if you want to get messy, your hands), spread the dough on top of the cooled brownies.
  7. Let brownies refrigerate for an hour, so the dough can set.
  8. Slice them up and watch the smiles grow with each bite.

While I opted for basic milk chocolate chips, feel free to use dark or white chocolate. Or, substitute half the chocolate chips for peanut butter morsels for a sweet and salty treat.

What’s your go-to indulgence?

This entry was posted in Baking, Food Challenge, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s International No Diet Day! So Enjoy These Cookie Dough Brownies!

  1. susdoosxp says:

    omg this looks soo naughty..

Leave a Reply

