Happy National Running Day!

First, I want to apologize for my month-long hiatus. If March comes in like a lion and out like a lamb, then May comes in like a stallion and out like a road-runner: fast and chaotic. Following the two work weeks from hell (sizing and then shooting a real women’s jean shoot is not for the faint of heart), I took a much-needed vacation. Nothing helps you recover from chaos like a week of soaking up the sun with a good book (or three) and your best friends by your side.

Best friends in Bahamian waters.

Best friends in Bahamian waters.

Best friends soak up the sun.

Best friends soak up the sun.

So now that I’ve had my required R&R, I’m back to the blog. And what better way to come back than by celebrating my favorite pastime: running.

As I wrote before, my history with running has been filled with many uphill battles— much like the races I’ve run. Chronic knee pain kept me out of competitive running for a few years. I didn’t see the point in running a race when I wasn’t going to finish in an ideal time. I soon realized, however, that I needed running in my life. It frees me from the demands and dysfunction that so much stress. It lets me be alone and at peace, even if it’s just for 30 minutes. It’s cheaper and sometimes more affective than therapy (and as someone who’s been going to therapy for 10 years, I should know!)

I re-entered the running world a few years ago, and in January I decided to train for my first half-marathon. Initially I planned on running the Disney Wine and Dine Marathon in November. But after a few months, I realized that may not be the best option for my first race. First, it would cost a lot of money that, frankly, I don’t have right now. But more importantly, I realized that I wanted my first half-marathon to mean something. While I love the idea of drinking wine alongside my favorite Disney characters, it doesn’t hold a special place in my heart.

One thing that does hold a special place in my heart, however, is my home town. Westerly is a small town where everyone knows your name (or, at least, the name of someone you’re related to). Located along the Atlantic Ocean, it is the ideal summer getaway. Even Taylor Swift agrees! Unfortunately, the ocean-side location lead to some major damage after last year’s Superstorm Sandy. Since then, we’ve been working to rebuild and bring back the beach!

So when I saw that the Surftown Half Marathon would benefit my beach town, I knew that had to be my first 13 miler! And it gets better. The race takes place the week after my birthday (great way to work off the cake) and I will be running it with my best friend (the tiny blonde you see in the photos above). Does it get more perfect than that?

Look at that hardware!

Look at that hardware!

As we move into the final three months of training, I’ll keep you posted with my progress and tips . Who knows… maybe it will motivate you to run a race!

Are you a runner? What tips do you have for first-timers?

This entry was posted in Disney Wine and Dine 2013, Fitness, Half Marathon, Physical Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

