30 Day Ab Challenge: An Ab-Solute Failure

If you came here to read a success story, then you’ll be dissapointed.

When I started this challenge 30-something days ago, I had a ton of free time and planned on using it to tone my stomach. But a lot of things can change in a month, as they did for me. A new dance season started, which takes up 3 of my 5 weeknights. I picked up a few freelance gigs, which means more late-nights by the computer. I also took on a special project (which you will learn all about tomorrow), and that takes up more spare time. Throw in several social obligations, and my schedules left little time for 6-pack perfection. But I came across a few, well, challenges that made it more difficult for me to complete the 30 Day Ab Challenge.

Issue 1: Space
I know this may sound like a lame excuse, but it actually makes a lot of sense. After giving up my gym membership to save some money, I was left working out in my 12-by-8 room. Given my full-sized bed and decent sized dresser, I hardly have enough room to stand let alone lay down for crunches. Maybe when I make the big move to Astoria (or, even better, make more money and move back to the gym), things will be a little easier.

Issue 2: Time
Here’s my typical day: I wake up at 6 a.m. to run. I work from 9 a.m. till 6 p.m. I dance from 8 till 10 p.m. I get home at 11 p.m. By the time I’m back in my apartment, I want to lay in my bed, not on the hardwood floors. And 3 sets of 150+ exercises takes up too much time. Sure it sounds lazy, but if an extra 30 minutes of sleep gets me through my busy day, then I’ll take that over a trim tummy.

Issue 3: Variety
I’ve diagnosed myself with Workout ADD. When I repeat my workouts, I get bored and lose the motivation. It’s why I can’t run on the treadmill without changing the speed or incline every 5 minutes, or why my workout DVDs collect dust. So repeating these 4 exercises every day was not fun. Not to mention, these exercises tackled the same area of my stomach, making it more difficult to tone my entire stomach. If I tackle this for a third time (which I hope to do) I’ll need to find one that changes daily, or at least weekly.

Photo Credit: Lolbrary.com

Photo Credit: Lolbrary.com

But just because I failed, doesn’t mean you did. If you managed to get through the 30 Day Ab Challenge, then you have till this Saturday, August 17 to send me your before and after photos. The person with the most transformed tummy will receive a $50 Kohl’s Gift Card.

As for me, I’m hoping the third time will be a charm for me and my abs.

How did you survive the 30 Day Ab Challenge? Share your success (or not-so-success) in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Challenge Fail, Fitness, Physical Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Day Ab Challenge: An Ab-Solute Failure

  1. Jenna (Sam's gf) says:

    I like doing a more mix of things – my two favorites are 8 Min Abs (on youtube [oh.. and the outfits/music are amazing] – also the buns one I used to do actually haha swear it works) and the P90X Ab workout (like 20 minutes) (I have a ‘unregistered’ copy if you want)

Leave a Reply

