Half Marathon Challenge: 13.1 Miles Done!

Well folks, to quote the wise and gorgeous Jason Mraz, “I f*ckin did it!” This past Sunday I ran my first half marathon and despite the 5 a.m. wake up, I had an amazing time.

It was the perfect day for a run through Rhode Island. Well, more like a small beach town in Rhode Island. The sun shine made the mansions and beaches look more beautiful, while the ocean breeze kept me cool during the 13.1 course.

A mile in and feeling good.

A mile in and feeling good.

It wasn’t all easy though. At the 8th mile, my knees started screaming in pain. It felt like a million knives were stabbing my muscles. I so badly wanted to stop and call my dad to pick me up. But the cheers from the crowd, combined with the beats of Girl Talk and Rolling Stones, pushed me through those last 5 miles and across the finish line.

Crossing the finish line of my first half marathon!

Crossing the finish line of my first half marathon!

As far as my half-marathon goals
1. I FINISHED as evident by the photo above.

2. I did not run the entire time, because I didn’t want to risk injuring my knees to the point where I would be out of commission for weeks (or months).

3. I FINISHED IN UNDER 2:30:00. To be more specific, I finished in 2:21:39. Not bad for a first timer.

The one question everyone keeps asking me is whether or not I will do another half marathon? The answer: Absolutely! That being said, I need to give myself some time off before running down that rabbit hole.

I do know I wouldn’t have been able to complete this race, or have the motivation to run any future races without everyone’s support. To my parents, thank you for encouraging me to join the cross-country in middle school and for being at every finish line. To my boyfriend, thank you for listening to me complain about my aches and pains and for massaging them away. To my family and friends, thank you for those texts of good luck on race day; you don’t know how much it meant to me.

Surprise support from my high school cross country teammates.

Surprise support from my high school cross-country teammates.

The friends that race together stay together.

The friends that race together stay together.

Our boys woke up early to cheer us on.

Our boys woke up early to cheer us on.

The biggest and best cheerleader -- my dad!

The biggest and best cheerleader — my dad!

So now that I completed my half marathon challenge (and knocked an item of my 24th Year List) I need to set my sites on a new goal. That’s where you come in!

Send me some challenges through Twitter or the comment section below, and watch me complete in through the blog. And if you don’t, I guess I can try that 30 day ab challenge again!

What do you dare me to do? Leave your challenge in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Challenge Success, Fitness, Half Marathon, Physical Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Half Marathon Challenge: 13.1 Miles Done!

  1. Breezy says:

    Love that Mraz song. I think I will sing that in my head after my first 5K. 🙂

Leave a Reply

